1. Ph.D Programme
2. M.A Urdu

Dr. Mohd Abdul Muyeed
M.A., M.Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D.(Osm.), P.G. Diploma in Applied Linguistics (Osm.)

Chairperson, BOS, 

Dr. Mohd Abdul Muyeed

M.A., M.Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D.(Osm.), P.G. Diploma in Applied Linguistics (Osm.)





Nizam VII, H.E.H Mir Osman Ali Khan the last emperor of Hyderabad Government issued a "Farmaan" (known to be as Courtier Orders) on 26th April, 1917 for the establishment of Educational atmosphere with a phenomena to impart the education in all the faculties particularly in Urdu Medium, so as to generate the philosophy of Education for the betterment of the mankind. For the purpose number of books from all the faculties were translated by the eminent scholars and personalities from all over India.

In the same vision the Department of Urdu was established on the 28th August, 1918. M.A. course was started in 1923 when Mohiuddin Quadri Zore, Abdul Khader Sarvari, Syed Mohd Hafeez Quateel, Zeenath Sajida, Hussaini Shahid, Jahan Bano Naqvi, Rafia Sultana, Sikander Ali Wajd, Aziz Ahmed, Maqdoom Mohiuddin, Mir Hassan, Mohd Ali Khan Maikash, Syed Ashfaque Hussain, Jalaluddin Ashk, Khaja Hameeduddin Shahid, Zafarul Hassan, Abid Ali Khan, Rasheed Quareshi, Akhtar Hassan, Sa'ad Hassan Sa'ad, were the students at early stage. Some of them were scored their future by joining the teaching profession upto the level of Heads of the Department.

The Department started the doctoral programme in the late 40s. Prof. Rafia Sultana, former Head and former Dean, Faculty of Arts, was the first woman in Osmania University and the country to receive her Ph.D, in Urdu in 1954. After 30 years Prof. Maimoona was also Dean, Faculty of Arts, O.U. (2014-2015). The Department has awarded 141 Ph.D and about 105 M.Phil degrees so far.

At the initial stage Prof. Waheeduddin Saleem was appointed as Head of the Department. He was very much close to Sir Syed Ahmed Khan (Founder of Aligarh Muslim University) Maulana Shibli (Founder of Nadavath-ul-ulama) Altaf Hussain Hali (Founder of Criticism in Urdu) up to 1928. After that Dr. Syed Sajjad, (1928-1929, 1939-1944 and 1946-1948), Moulvi Abdul Haq known to be as (Baba-e-Urdu) (1929-1939), Mohiuddin Quadri Zore (1944-1946), Prof. Abdul Khader Sarvari (1948-1962), Prof. Masood Hussain Khan (1962-1968), Prof. Rafia Sultana, (1968-1979), Prof. Gulam Omar Khan (1979-1983), Dr. Zeenath Sajida (1983-1984), Prof. Syeda Jaffar (1984-1986), Prof. Yousuf Shareefuddin (Yousuf Sarmasth) (1986 to 1988 and 1992-1994), Prof. Mughni Tabassum (Mohd Abdul Mughni) (1988-1990), Prof. Ashraf Rafi (1990-1992 and 1997-1998), Prof. Akbar Ali Baig (1994-1995). Prof. Ghyas Mateen (1995 to 1997 and January 1998 to October 1998). Dr. Aqueel Hashmi (1998 to 2000), Prof. Baig Ehsas (2000-2002 and 2004-2006), Prof. Afzaluddin Iqbal (2002-2004), Prof. Maimoona (2006-2008), Prof. Fatima Begum (2008-2010), Prof. S.A. Majeed Bedar (2010-2012), Prof. Atiya Sultana (2012-2014) and Dr. Mohd Abdul Muyeed (Dr. Muyeed Javeed) from 2014-2016 and 2016 to till date.

Dr. Mohd Abdul Muyeed was the Chairman for the Urdu Volume - Souvenir "SAUGHAAT" which was published on occasion of O.U. Centenary Celebration in the April- 2017 (1917-2017). Dr Mohd Abdul Muyeed, was the Coordinator for the Seven Days Short Term Course entitled "Techniques of Urdu Poetry i.e. -Prosody- " for Urdu Lecturers at Degree Level organized by Academic Staff College, O.U. in 2016.
Courses Offered

  • Ph.D Programme

  • M.A Urdu

Paper Titles of M.A.( Urdu)



Core- 1:  Urdu Zaban-o-Adab

 (Beginning to Bahamani Period)

Core- 1 :  Qutub Shahi Period (1518-1687)

Core- 2:  Adil Shahi Daur (1490-1686)

Core- 2 :  Urdu Poetry (1858-1900)

Core- 3:  Classiki Shaeri (1700-1800)

Core- 3 :  Urdu Prose   (1858-1900)

Elective I-A:  Classiki Prose (1750-1857)

Elective I-A:   Urdu Poetry (1901-1936)

Elective I-B:  Adabi Tehrikain

Elective I-B:   Nazeer Akbarabadi

Elective II-A:  Daur-e-Usta Ki Shaeri  (1801- 1857)

Elective II-A:  Urdu Prose   (1901-1936)  

Elective II-B:  Sheriyat

Elective II-B:  Jamai Osmania Ki Ilmi-o-Adabi Khidmaat




Core- 1: Modern Urdu Poetry (1936- till date)   

Core- 1 : Literary Criticism

Core- 2: Modern Urdu Prose (1936- till date)

Core- 2 : Women's Writing - II

Core- 3: Study of Iqbal (Specialization)

Core- 3 : Study of Premchand (Specialization)

Elective I-A: Mass Media - I

Elective I-A:  Mass Media- II  

Elective I-B: Dr. Mohiuddin Qadri Zore

Elective I-B: Urdu Tahqueeq

Elective II-A: Women's Writing- I

Elective II-A: Tariq-e-Adab Urdu 

Elective II-B:ID- Ibtedai Urdu - Learn Urdu Easily

Elective II-B: Project - Work

Note: Complete details about the course may please be obtained from the Head of the department


Associate PROFESSORs
Dr. Mohd Abdul Muyeed Head & Chairman B.o.S.
M.A., M.Ed., M.Phil., Ph.D.(Osm.), P.G. Diploma in Applied Linguistics (Osm.)
Specialization : Modern and Classical Poetry.
Office Staff

Mrs. Saleema Sultana - Computer Operator.
Mr. Mohd. Akbar - Office Sub- Ordinate.