1. Ph.D. Programme
2. M.A., Course

Prof. T. Krishna Rao

M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.

Chairperson , BOS

Prof. V. Padmavathi

M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.


The Department is eminently known in the country for research in diverse fields of philosophy and established in the year 1919. It has been recognised by the UGC as a Department of Special Assistance since 1987. This is one of the oldest Departments in Osmania University. The following are the eminent Scholars who have contributed for the development of the department viz., Prof. Khaleefa Abdul Hakeem, Prof. Mir Walliuddin, Prof. S. Waheeduddin, Prof. V. Madhusudhan Reddy, Prof. Syed Alam Kundmiri, Prof. V. Narayana Karan Reddy and Prof K. Wilson. Out of these scholars Prof. Prof. V. Narayana Karan Reddy, Prof. Mallesh Sankasala served as Principals, University College of Arts & Social Sciences and presently Prof. T. Krishna Rao holding the responsibilities of Head of the Department as well as Principal, UCA&SS which is a prestigious and biggest campus college in the University where the Philosophy Department is also located. In addition to the above, Prof. B.D. Lahoti from the same department has served as Dean, Faculty of Arts, OU.

The thrust areas of research under this programme are:
(i) Philosophy of Science
(ii) Logic, Islamic Philosophy especially Sufism.
(iii) Moral and Political Philosophy
(iv) At present the focus is on Recent Trends in Western and Indian Philosophy, Futurology, Existentialism Post-Modernism and Social Philosophy.
(v) In addition to these, the Department also carries on research in Philosophy of Wittgenstein, Contemporary Western Philosophy, and systems of Indian Philosophy like Nyaya and Buddhism.

Apart from the above, the research work is being carried out on Sri Aurobindo, M.K. Gandhi, J. Krishna Murthi, M.N. Roy and Dr. Mohammed Iqbal who were renowned philosophers of the country. The Department publishes its Annual Research Journal "Indian Journal of Philosophy".

Courses Offered

  • Ph.D. Programme

  • M.A., Course

Paper Titles of M.A.( Philosophy)



Core - 1: History of Western Philosophy-I

Core - 1 : History of Western Philosophy-II

Core - 2: History of Indian Philosophy-I

Core - 2 : History of Indian Philosophy-II

Core - 3: Moral Philosophy-I

Core - 3 : Moral Philosophy-II

Elective I: Logic and Epistemology-I

Elective I: Logic and Epistemology-II

Elective II: Social Philosophy

Elective II: Social Philosophy




Core - 1:Contemporary Western Philosophy-I

Core - 1 :Contemporary Western Philosophy-II

Core - 2: Contemporary Indian Philosophy-I

Core - 2 :Contemporary Indian Philosophy-II

Core - 3: Philosophy of History

Core - 3 :Philosophy of Futurology

Elective I: Study of Text of Sri Aurobindo: "The Human Cycle"

Elective I: Study of Text of Sri Aurobindo: "The Ideal of Human Unity"

Elective II: Philosophy of Religion


Elective II: Marks and Schools of Marxism.

Note: Complete details about the course may please be obtained from the Head of the department



Prof. T. Krishna Rao, Head
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Specialization : Indian Philosophy, Contemporary Indian Philosophy and Ethics.

Prof. V. Padmavathi, Chairperson BOS
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Specialization : Futurology, Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of History, Social and Political Philosophy.

Prof. Mallesh Sankasala (FS)
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.
Specialization : Western Philosophy, Moral Philosophy, Social and Political Philosophy.


Mr. P. Nageshwar Rao
M.A., M.Phil.
Specialization : Logic and Knowledge Representation (AI), History of Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Indian Ethics and Marxism.


Dr. Ch. Janaiah


Mr.S. Hari Prasad - Junior Assistant/Computer Operator
Mr.Vazir Ali - Office Subordinate.