Ph.D. 3 Years
M.Phil. 1 Year, 12 seats
M.A. 2 years 30+10 seats
Prof. K. Arjun Rao
Chair Person, BOS

Dr. G. Arun Kumar


The Department of History, Osmania University was established in the year 1919 with Sri Qazi Badiuddin as its first Head.

The Department was headed by eminent scholars and historians like Prof. H. K. Sherwani (1946-51), Prof. Yousuf Hussian Khan (1951-58), Prof. P. Sreenivasa Chari (1960-64), Prof. R. Subramanyam (1966-69), Zubeda Yazdani (1970-71), Prof. R. Narasimha Rao (1971-76), Prof. Sarojini Regani (1976-80 & 1983-84), Prof. Alladi Vaidehi (1981-82), Prof. Y. Vaikuntham (1985-89), Prof. P. Jhansi Lakshmi (1989-91 & 1993-94), Prof. R. Soma Reddy (1991-93), Prof. K. Sarojini Devi (1995-97), Prof. S. Bhanumathi Ranga Rao (1997-99), Dr. V. Sadanandam (1999-2000), Prof. G. Venkat Rajam (2000-03) and Prof. A. Satyanarayana (2003-05), Prof. K. Ramakrishna (2005-07), Prof. P. Prasangi (2007-09). At present Prof. M. Venkateshwar Rao is Heading the department. At these scholars have made substantial contributions towards the growth and development has successfully completed over 15 major research projects funded by different has successfully completed over 15 major research projects funded by different agencies like UGC. ICHR, Nehru Memorial Museum, New Delhi, Government of Andhra Pradesh, A.P. State Archieves and some of their reports have been submitted and published.

Prof. Sarojini Regani, served as Director, State Archives and Research Institue, Tarnaka and also served as Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, OU. Prof. Y. Vaikuntham, served as Vice-Chancellor of Kakatiya University from 1995-1998 and was the Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, OU from 2000-03. Prof. R. Soma Reddy, served as Principal, University College of Arts & Social Sciences, OU from 1995-1996.

The Department of History, Osmania University, is one of the oldest and largest Department in India. In History Department, under-graduate courses were started in 1919 and Post Graduate programme  was started in 1924. The Ph.D and M.Phil programmes were started subsequently. The Department has three UG and three PG centres.

Since its inception, the faculty of the department has successfully guided over 58 Ph.D students and 60 M.Phil students and most of them are occupying important academic positions in India and Foreign Universities. The contributions of the faculty of the department are considered to be significant.

The Department also is bringing out its own Journal called "Osmania Journal of Historical Research" from 1981 onwards. It is funded by UGC Unit, Osmania University, whenever we publish under Un-Assigned Grant Account.

The Department awards "Prof. R. Narasimha Rao Gold Medal" to the student who secures first rank in the MA Final examiniation and the "MLN Reddy Memorial Gold Medal" to the women candidate who secures highest marks in MA(regular) examinations.

The Department has been sanctioned Departmental Research support Project in 1994 by University Grants Commission, New Delhi, for carrying out research on "Socio-Economic Conditions in Andhra Desa in 17th & 18th Centuries, A.D." and now once again University Grants Commission, New Delhi, has upgraded Departmental Special Assistance Programme (DSA/SAP) to our Department for carrying out research on the thrust area "Socio-Economic Transformation in Telangana Regional Change in Historical Perspective", for a period of Five years i.e. 1-4-2007 to 31-3-2012.

The Department has organized the Indian History Congress, A.P. History Congress and South Indian History Congress between 1977 to 1986 and recently a National Seminar on "Tribal Situation in India: A Comparative Perspective", held under DSA/SAP Programme on 23-24 March, 2010.

I am also happy to inform you that the Department of History, Osmania University is holding a Three-Days International Seminar on "Hyderabad State: Society, Economy and Politics 1724 to 1956" during 17-19th December, 2010.

At present Prof. Y. Vaikuntham (Retd.) has been awarded UGC Emeritus Fellowship for a period of two years from 2009-2011. Prof. A. Satyanarayana, has been awarded Visiting Fellowship by Jacob University, Bremen, Germany for two semesters from 16 August, 2010 to 15 August, 2011.

The Department of History, OU has revised MA(History) regular syllabus and introduced Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) including Inter Disciplinary from 2009-2010 Academic year. The Titles of the papers as per below.

I Semester
Ancient Civilisations
Cultural History of India (From Earliest times to 1206 A.D.)
History of Modern World (1453 to1871)
History of Andhras upto 1323 A.D.
History of India (From A.D. 1206 to1707)
II Semester
Modern India (1707 to1858)
Historiography and Historical Method
History of Modern World  (1871 to 1964)
History of Andhra From (1323 to 1956)
National Movement in India (1858 to 1947)
III Semester
Social History of Medieval India 1200 to 1700 A.D.
Social History of Modern India 1700 to 1947 A.D.
History of Dalit Liberation Movements in Colonial India (1900 to1947)
History of Contemporary India 1947 to 1990 (Elective)
Cultural Heritage of India (Inter-Disciplinary)
IV Semester
Economic History of Medieval India  (1200 to 1700 A.D.)
Economic History of Modern India (1700 to 1947 A.D.)
Tribal and Peasant Movements in India 19th and 20th Centuries.
Project Work
India's Struggle for Independence (Inter-Disciplinary)

Dr. G. Sudarshan Reddy

G. Arun Kumar

Chairman, BOS in History, OU

R. Varalakshmi

Dr. K. Arjuna Rao ,M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.

Head, Dept. of History, OU.
Co-ordinator, College Development Council, O.U.
Specialization: History of Modern Andhra, Tribal Studies.

Assistant Professor

Dr. G. Anjaiah
Mr. K. Veeresha (Technical Assistant)
Mr. H. Badappa (Office Attender)